Portraits

For this past week. I wanted to test out portraits. It was easier than I thought it would be, yet harder in other areas. I used to not like taking portraits of people because it would make them very self-conscious. I can tell we now live in a world of Instagram and selfies, because everyone was fine with posing and letting me re-arrange them. The hardest part was finding a good pose, a good angle, focusing on settings and keeping a conversation with your subject all at once. After a few people I started to get the hang of it. It was actually really fun. Also it was a good experience because everyone I took pictures of was fine with me trying to figure out good poses and angles. Their patience made this enjoyable, more than I’ve had before.

I took pictures of my friends when we were all testing out our skills with a light reflector.

PaigeAnthony_Portarits-8

PaigeAnthony_Portarits-9

PaigeAnthony_Portarits-10

This next set of pictures were taken at my family bbq this past Memorial Day. They were all so nice about me having them pose them or hovering over them with my camera.

PaigeAnthony_Portarits-5

PaigeAnthony_Portarits-2

PaigeAnthony_Portarits-1

Also I wanted to learn how to do some simple edits; below are the before and after changes.

This first one, I wanted his whole shirt to be denim, I felt like that many colors was taking away from the photo as a whole.

PaigeAnthony_BenOriginal PaigeAnthony_T-shirtChangeColor

Next I wanted to match a color in the photo. I took the green from the second mug and matched the strips in the scarf to it.

PaigeAnthony_ColorMatchPaigeAnthony_ColorMatchWinter

The last edit I tested my skills on is little enhancements. I sharped her eyes and whitened her teeth a little bit.

PaigeAnthony_PortaitsEditOrignalPaigeAnthony_PortriatEdit-9

2 thoughts on “Portraits

  1. Paige! I love that you gave a tutorial on the bus. You’re so charismatic! Thanks for the great tips, they really helped me get some great portraits at Bannack! And, good job on your portraits; you’re just on a roll this week!

    I found the best tutorial about Frequency Separation. Check it out if you’re interested: http://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/tutorials/photoshop/learn-secrets-of-frequency-separation/#1

    And definitely take a look at these other great blogs:

    Portraits


    https://rachelredford.wordpress.com/2015/06/03/portraits/

Leave a comment